Sushmita Dev suspended from Lok Sabha


New Delhi: Today six Congress MPs were suspended from the Lok Sabha for five days by Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on the grounds of ‘highly unbecoming’ conduct during their protests over the lynching issue that ‘undermined the Chair’s dignity’.

Mahajan announced her order as soon as the House met at 2.00 PM following an adjourment.

Gaurav Gogoi, K Suresh, Adhir Rajan Chowdhury, Ranjeet Ranjan, Sushmita Dev and M K Raghavan are the MPs who have been suspended. They alegedly tore official papers and threw it towards the Speaker’s Chair, which prompted members of the treasury benches to shout “shame, shame”.

“Some of these members had picked up papers from the Lok Sabha secretariat staffers’ table and had torn and thrown them” said Speaker Sumitra Mahajan



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s